Redistricting Information

Redistricting is the process where the district lines for political units are redrawn to account for population shifts. Federal and state constitutional and statutory provisions mandate redistricting. Local redistricting requires the cooperation and coordination among counties and their respective municipalities. Each county board is responsible for adjusting supervisory district lines. The governing body of a municipality–the common council or village or town board–is responsible for establishing ward boundaries. The common council of every city redistricts its aldermanic districts.  


Redistricting Adoption Timeline

Redistricting Committee Members:

Randy Udell - Chair
Suzie Genin - Dist 1
Greg Jones - Dist 2
Wendy Hathaway - Dist 3
Huma Ahsan - Dist 4
Bill Conzemius - Rural at Large  
Gene Musser - At Large  

Current Maps:

Aldermanic Districts Wards

County Supervisory Districts

State Senate & Assembly Districts

New Map Options:

Map Option 1

Map Option 1a

Map Option 1ab

Map Option 2

Map Option 3

Map Option 4

Final Map Option to the Common Council 

The Redistricting Committee approved Map Option 1ab during their final meeting on October 7th, 2021. Map Option 1ab will be acted on by the Common Council during a special meeting on November 2nd, 2021 at 5:30 pm. There will be a Public Hearing during this meeting and all Citizen's wishing to be heard may speak at this meeting.  

Please contact the City Clerk at if you have any questions or comments. 

Redistricting Links:

State of Wisconsin Legislative Technology Services Bureau (LTSB) Local Redistricting Page

LTSB Local Redistricting FAQs

Dane County Redistricting Page